Hatching Day !

I am so excited! this morning when I went out to check the hatcher we had not only 1 but 3 Lady Amherst chicks. That is such great news because we haven’t been having good luck with them this season. If the eggs aren’t fertile, then  there is one hen in particular that is eating the yolk out of the eggs if I don’t get to them in time. arrrrrrrgh!!!

My husband started raising ornamental pheasants a couple of years ago as a hobby and now it has developed into a small time business.The birds are beautiful, (but it can get a little noisy during matting season.) Anyways getting back to this morning for the reason why I was checking on the birds. My husband had to have a Triple By-Pass  in the beginning of May of this year, so everything has been handed down to me. Don’t get me wrong I really don’t mind doing all the jobs and tasks at hand It just sometimes really wears me down.

So this is how my day begins….. When I get up in the morning I check my e-mails, then I get dressed, go outside to the freezer and take out an ice pack, go out to the shop,change out the ice pack from the cooler, ( eggs are in the cooler waiting to be put into the incubator) feed the dogs their names are Cody and Sadie. Then I check on the pheasant chicks and change and clean out their water containers and feed them, then I check the incubator and make sure it has enough water. Then I go out to the Aviaries ( which we have 9 of) and feed and clean the water containers of the Pheasants and chickens and pigeons. Yes I said Pigeons and Chickens.but that is for another day.

O k so that is my daily routine. Except for Thursday thru Saturday.  On Thursday  I candle the Red Golden Pheasants and the Lady Amherst Pheasant eggs to see if they are fertile or not ( you take a tin can pole a hole in the bottom and put a light in up through it.Then you take the egg point side down and to the side to see if there is anything inside) If they are fertile then I put them in the Hatcher. On Friday I set eggs Which means I take the eggs from the cooler which has been there since the previous Saturday and put them in the Incubator. On Saturday I candle the Reeves Pheasants eggs and the Silver Pheasants eggs to see if they are fertile or not and which ever ones are fertile goes into the Hatcher.

Well that’s all the time I have for today I’m getting tired. I hope you all have a nice and quiet day.

 

Leave a Reply

